Worship Bulletin: 4/30/23

Worship Bulletin: 4/30/23

Welcome to Worship at the McPherson Church of the Brethren
We invite your active participation in the life of this congregation, as together we continue to grow in grace and seek justice for God’s creation.

Sunday, April 30, 2023 @ 10:15 a.m. | A Worship of Word, Singing and Ringing

Prairie Bronze Handbell Ensemble: Darlene Buller, Kent Dick, Kendra Flory, Janelle Flory Schrock, Katie Gihring, Eric Goering,
Nancy Johnson, Karen Loucks, Vada Snider; Director, Jenny Switzer, Martha Szambecki, Brenda Turner, Trek Wedel, Todd Wedel

Gathering Music | “Hallelujah” | Leonard Cohen/arr. Joel Raney

Video Welcome

Sharing Time: Joys & Concerns | LeRoy Weddle

Opening Words | Kathryn Whitacre | “We Will Not Keep Silent” (based on Psalm 96) | Walter Brueggemann
Sing a new song to the Lord! Psalm 96:1

Opening Song | “My Life Flows On” | #580
Lois Grove, piano

Mack Kids | “Seek Ye First” | Krystal Bells
Carolyn Schrock, director

Story for the Children | Kathryn Whitacre

Kendra Flory
“Fantasy on ‘Kings Weston’” | arr. Fred Gramann
“Amazing Grace” | arr. Linda Lamb | Nancy Johnson, violin
“Siyahamba – This Little Light of Mine” | arr. Sondra Tucker
“Steal Away, Swing Low” | arr. Cathy Moklebust

Janelle Flory Schrock
“Carillon” | Dean Wagner

Sending Song | “Let There Be Peace on Earth” | arr. Cynthia Dobrinski
(Congregation sings as directed)

Let there be peace on earth and let it begin with me;
let there be peace on earth, the peace that was meant to be.
With God, our Creator, children all are we. Let us walk with each other in perfect harmony.
Sing twice
Let peace begin with me, let this be the moment now. With every step I take, let this be my solemn vow:
To take each moment and live each moment in peace eternally.
Let there be peace on earth, and let it begin with me.

Sending Words | Kathryn Whitacre | “Prayer of Praise: Earth Chorus” (based on Psalm 96) | Chris Altrock (adapted)

Sending Music | “Arise, Shine, Thy Light has Come” | arr. Kevin McChesney

Videography and Editing: Eric Goering
Music Coordinator: Ellen Gilbert

Choir Director: Becky Snell
Technical Crew: Eric Goering, Ryan Goering, Shane Kirchner, Steve Lolling & Chris Whitacre
Chancel Decoration Team: Jill Brax, Colleen Gustafson, Michele Johnson, Shane Kirchner & Lara Schoming