Christmas Eve Service – 12/24/20

Christmas Eve Service – 12/24/20

Welcome to Worship at the McPherson Church of the Brethren
Christmas Eve Service | Thursday, December 24, 2020 | 6:30 p.m

Gathering Music
Resonance Trio: Bryan Hess, viola; Dan Masterson, piano & Bruce Wagoner, cello
“Joy to the World” | arr. Ben Roundtree
Kendra Flory & Janelle Flory Schrock, bells


Centering Music | “Morning Star” | arr. Hagen/Masterson
Ellen Gilbert, organ; Dan Masterson, piano

Lighting the Advent Wreath | The Christ Candle

Opening Prayer | Cheryl Lawrie | We Can No Longer Wait (adapted)

Music | “In the First Light” | arr. Ted Samuels
Dan Lichty, Paul & Renata Prose, Laura Schoming, vocals; Ellen Gilbert, organ

Scripture | Mary is Visited | Luke 1:26-38

Hymn | “Breath of Heaven”
James Bowyer, piano; Kyle Hopkins, horn

Scripture | Joseph is Visited | Matthew 1:18-25

Music | “Peace, Peace with Silent Night”
Allan, Deb, Grace & Kaitlyn van Asselt, vocals; Kaitlyn van Asselt, flute; Jean Hendricks, piano

Scripture | Traveling to Bethlehem | Luke 2:1-5

Music | “Mary’s Boy Child (Long Time Ago in Bethlehem)”
Dan Hoffman, guitar; Dawn Hoffman, vocals

Scripture | Angels & Shepherds | Luke 2:8-18

Music | “Let the Infant Jesus Sleep” | arr. William Stickles
Kendra Flory & Janelle Flory Schrock, vocals; Ellen Gilbert, organ

Scripture | The Magi | Matthew 2:1-12

Hymn | “O Little Town of Bethlehem” | vs. 1 & 2 | #191 HWB
Kendra Flory, vocals; Ellen Gilbert, piano

Closing Words | New Kilpatrick Church, UK | Roddy Hamilton

Music | “Oh, What Joy!” | arr. Suzanne Lord
Addie Johnson & Eric Johnson, vocals; Dorothy Janzen, piano

Candlelight Instructions
You are invited, at this time, to turn out the lights in your home and/OR Light a candle in your home.
You are invited to let the music of Stille Nacht seep into your soul and be a balm for your spirit.
And then you are invited to join in singing two verses of Silent Night.

“Stille Nacht/Silent Night”
Bryan Hess, violin; Dan Masterson, piano; Bruce Wagoner, cello

Sending Words

Music Coordination: Ellen Gilbert
Editing: Eric Goering
Narration: Kendra Flory, Karlene Tyler & Kathryn Whitacre